COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION of 7 December 1994 on the transfer of small and medium-sized enterprises (*) (Text with EEA relevance) (94/1069/EC)

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community,

Whereas the Council adopted Decision 89/490/EEC (1) relating inter alia to the improvement of the business environment; whereas the programme of support for small and medium-sized enterprises set up by that Decision was revised by Council Decision 91/319/EEC (2); whereas the Council reaffirmed its commitment to supporting the consolidation of measures for enterprises by adopting the resolution of 17 June 1992 (3);

Whereas, in its Decision 93/379/EEC (4), the Council adopted, with effect from 1 July 1993, a programme of measures to intensify the priority areas and to ensure the continuity of policy for enterprise; whereas this programme is concerned first and foremost with improving the legal, fiscal and administrative environment of enterprises and makes specific provision for examining the transfer of enterprises;

Whereas the White Paper on Growth, Competitiveness and Employment mentioned the transfer of businesses as a priority area requiring measures to improve the situation (5);

Whereas the integrated programme in favour of SMEs and the craft sector of 3 June 1994 (6) announced a Commission recommendation on the transfer of businesses, as part of the Community contribution towards improving the business environment;

Whereas the Commission in its communication on the improvement of the tax environment for small and medium-sized enterprises (7) announced an initiative aiming to limit the fiscal charges on succession or donation;

Whereas in its resolution of 10 October 1994 the Council (8) invited the Member States and the Commission to examine those measures in existence which caused difficulties for the creation, growth and transmission of enterprises;

Whereas the Commission has now conducted this examination and ascertained that several thousand enterprises are obliged to cease trading every year because of insuperable difficulties affecting their transfer; whereas the winding-up of these enterprises has negative repercussions on the economic fabric of businesses and on their creditors and employees;

Whereas this loss of jobs and economic activity is all the more regrettable for not being caused by market forces, but by insufficient preparation for succession and the inadequacy of certain aspects of Member States' law, especially concerning company law, inheritance law and fiscal law;

Whereas the chances of a successful transfer will be improved by efforts to enhance the awareness of entrepreneurs and to inform and educate them in such a way that they can effectively prepare the succession of their enterprises in their own lifetime;

Whereas, nevertheless, certain changes to the national law of the Member States would greatly increase the number of successful business transfers;

Whereas one of the obstacles to a successful transfer is the difficulty experienced by the successors in financing compensation for their co-heirs who do not wish to participate in the enterprise, and whereas adequate financial instruments should be available in all Member States;

Whereas it may be necessary to change the enterprise's legal form in order to prepare the transfer, giving the enterprise the legal form which is most conducive to the success of the operation; whereas not all Member States have legal provisions which allow changes to be made to an enterprise's legal form without first winding up the enterprise and creating a new entity; whereas these operations entail costs and administrative procedures and mean a period of uncertainty for partners and third parties;

Whereas public limited company status could be one of the legal forms which best meet the requirements of transfer operations; whereas however public limited company status imposes demanding conditions on its creation and day-to-day management; whereas these conditions are generally geared to the needs of limited companies with a broad shareholder base, with a view to protecting the members and third parties; whereas these particular conditions do not appear necessary in cases where an entrepreneur seeks to create a public limited company with other members of his family so as to facilitate its transfer;

Whereas certain methods or legal forms facilitate transfers because the management responsibility and ownership are separated;

Whereas the adoption by an enterprise of the legal form most appropriate to its transfer should not be hampered by fiscal procedures; whereas the same consideration applies to all other operations involved in preparing the transfer, such as transfers of assets, mergers, divisions and exchanges of shares;

Whereas, in most Member States, a partnership is wound up on the death of one of the partners unless the partnership agreement states otherwise; whereas, moreover, unilateral acts of one partner may conflict with the partnership agreement, and the relevant legislation may not indicate which provision takes precedence; whereas, on the death of such a partner, this discrepancy may give rise to a conflict which jeopardizes the continued viability of the firm and may even cause it to go into liquidation;

Whereas, on the death of a partner or sole proprietor, the co-heirs are, in most Member States, required to make a unanimous decision on the continuation of the firm; whereas, as a result, the survival of the firm may be jeopardized if one of the heirs wishes the firm to cease trading;

Whereas one of the main obstacles preventing the successful transfer of a family business is the associated fiscal burden; whereas payment of inheritance or gift tax may threaten the financial equilibrium of the enterprise, and therefore also its survival; whereas this tax regime places European enterprises at a disadvantage vis-à-vis their international competitors;

Whereas the requirement of immediate payment of inheritance tax or gift tax may force the heirs of the enterprise to sell some of their shares, sell the enterprise in toto or even wind it up;

Whereas the assessment of the value of the enterprise should take into account the possible loss in the value of the enterprise as a result of its transfer;

Whereas it has become more difficult to find a successor within the familiy; whereas sale of the enterprise is a form of transfer which should be made easier, with a view to guaranteeing its survival, especially where this is not possible under family ownership; whereas it is essential to encourage the entrepreneur to make arrangements, in his own lifetime, for transfer of the enterprise;

Whereas the employee buy-out is a form of transfer which should be encouraged; whereas such a buy-out safeguards the existence of the entreprise and the transfer of know-how and previously acquired experience;

Whereas some Member States have already taken measures to facilitate transfers of enterprises; whereas certain practices can be adopted by other Member States,

HEREBY FORMULATES THIS RECOMMENDATION:

Article 1

Objectives

Member States are invited to take the necessary measures to facilitate the transfer of small and medium-sized enterprises in order to ensure their survival and to safeguard the jobs which depend upon them.

In particular, they are invited to take the most appropriate measures to extend their own legal, fiscal and administrative systems, in order to:

- make the business owner aware of the problems of transfer and thus encourage him to prepare for such an event within his lifetime,

- provide a financial environment which helps towards successful transfers,

- permit the businessman to prepare effectively for the transfer by offering suitable procedures,

- ensure the continuity of partnerships and sole proprietorships in the event of the death of a partner or the business owner,

- ensure the successful transfer within a family by seeing that inheritance or gift taxes do not endanger the survival of the business,

- encourage the owner, through taxation measures, to pass on his business by selling it or by transferring it to the employees, particularly when there is no successor in the family.

Article 2

Information

Public or private initiatives aimed at stimulating increased awareness, information and training of businessmen should be encouraged in order to ensure the right preparation for the successful transfer of small and medium-sized enterprises.

Article 3

Financial environment

Small and medium-sized enterprises should be provided with a financial environment which is conducive to successful transfers.

Article 4

Preparation for transfer

Businessmen should be provided with appropriate instruments which will allow the best preparation of the transfer. To this end, Member States are requested to:

(a) provide for a right of transformation for enterprises which allows them, whilst taking the rights of third parties and members into account, to change from one legal form to another without the need to wind up the firm or create a new legal entity;

(b) allow small and medium-sized enterprises to establish themselves in the form of public limited companies, with a very small number of shareholders, the establishment and management of which would be simplified in comparison to that of public limited companies whose shares are owned by large sections of the public;

(c) allow the creation of a public limited company with only one partner in accordance with Article 6 of the Twelfth Council Directive 89/667/EEC (1);

(d) when taxing any transactions designed to separate management powers and ownership, recognize the economic need for such legal operations in those cases where the objective is to facilitate transfers and, if necessary, take steps to authorize them and promote them;

(e) independently of the obligations stemming from Community law, apply the principle of fiscal neutrality to operations for the preparation of transfers such as transfers of assets, mergers, divisions and exchanges of shares; the principle of fiscal neutrality shall also apply to stamp duties, registration fees and other similar taxes.

Article 5

Continuity of partnerships and sole proprietorships

The continuity of partnerships and sole proprietorships should be ensured in the event of the death of one of the partners or the owner. To this end, Member States are requested to:

(a) provide for the principle that, in the event of the death of one of the partners, a partnership should be kept as a going concern, allowing the remaining partners to decide on the continuation of the business with or without the participation of the deceased partner's heirs, with reimbursement of the share of the deceased; the partnership agreement may derogate from the principle as to the continuation of the business;

(b) when the possible contradiction between the partnership agreement and the terms of the will or gift is not resolved, introduce a provision in their national legislation to the effect that the partnership agreement shall take precedence over the unilateral actions of one of the partners;

(c) in the event of the death of a member of a partnership or a sole proprietor, ensure that family law and inheritance law, and in particular the unanimity rule for decisions taken within the framework of joint ownership, do not prevent the enterprise from being kept as a going concern;

(d) ensure that the reimbursement of the share of the deceased, provided for in point (a), as well as the payment of financial compensation to minority heirs, following on from point (c), do not jeopardize the survival of the enterprise. To this end, if the parties choose payment in instalments, it should be possible for the compensation to be calculated on the basis of the market value of the enterprise, including goodwill, whereas, should a party demand immediate payment, compensation should be calculated strictly on the basis of the book value.

Article 6

Inheritance and gift taxes

The survival of the enterprise should be ensured through appropriate fiscal treatment of succession and gifts. To this end, Member States are invited to take one or more of the following measures:

(a) reduce the taxes on assets exclusively used for the business in the case of transfer by gift or succession, including inheritance tax, gift tax and registration fees, provided that the business is genuinely kept as a going concern for a minimum period;

(b) offer the heirs the possibility of spreading or deferring payment of the gift or inheritance taxes, provided that they keep the business as a going concern, and shall grant interest exemptions;

(c) ensure that the tax assessment of the business can take account of how the value of the business changes some months after the death of the owner.

Article 7

Transfer to third parties

The businessman should be encouraged to consider a transfer before death to third parties, where this cannot be done within the family. To this end, Member States are invited to:

(a) waive taxation on at least part of the revenue from the added value or capital gains arising on the assets of a business in the event of sale, in particular when the businessman has reached the age of 55; provide tax incentives for the reinvestment of the profits made on the sale of a business in another enterprise not quoted on the stock exchange and actively engaged in the production or sale of goods and services;

(b) promote the transfer of the enterprise to the employees, by reducing the taxation on the capital gain realized on the transfer of the shares to the employees, by waiving the registration fees, or through tax advantages for the granting of resources to employees for acquiring the enterprise, or by deferring taxation until the employee sells his shares. These measures should be applied equally to an enterprise or to a workers' cooperative set up by the employees.

Article 8

Concerted action

Member States are invited to inform and consult one another, in liaison with the Commission, with a view to benefiting from exchanges of experience and best practice as regards the transfer of small and medium-sized enterprises, and in particular with a view to implementing the measures provided for in this recommendation.

Article 9

Report

To enable the Commission to evaluate what progress has been made, the Member States are invited to communicate, at the latest by 31 December 1996, the text of any legislation, regulations or administrative provisions which have been adopted in order to put this recommendation into effect, and to inform the Commission of all future proposals in this area.

Article 10

Addressees

This recommendation is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 7 December 1994.

For the Commission

Raniero VANNI d'ARCHIRAFI

Member of the Commission

(*) The explanatory note of this recommendation is published as a communication in OJ No C 400, 31. 12. 1994, p. 1.

(1) OJ No L 239, 16. 8. 1989, p. 33.

(2) OJ No L 175, 4. 7. 1991, p. 32.

(3) OJ No C 178, 15. 7. 1992, p. 8.

(4) OJ No L 161, 2. 7. 1993, p. 68.

(5) White Paper, Part A, 'A more competitive economy', p. 14, and Part B, Section 2.8, 'Proposals and Remedies', p. 86.

(6) COM(94) 207 final of 3 June 1994.

(7) OJ No C 187, 9. 7. 1994, p. 5.

(8) OJ No C 296, 22. 10. 1994, p. 6.

(1) OJ No L 395, 30. 12. 1989, p. 40.

EMPFEHLUNG DER KOMMISSION vom 7. Dezember 1994 zur Übertragung von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen (*) (Text von Bedeutung für den EWR) (94/1069/EG)

DIE KOMMISSION DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft,

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Der Rat hat den Beschluß 89/490/EWG (1) betreffend unter anderem die Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen für Unternehmen angenommen. Das in diesem Beschluß enthaltene Programm zur Unterstützung der kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen wurde mit dem Beschluß 91/319/EWG (2) überprüft. Der Rat hat mit seiner Entschließung vom 17. Juni 1992 (3) sein Engagement bestätigt, die Stärkung der Maßnahmen zugunsten der Unternehmen zu unterstützen.

Der Rat hat durch den Beschluß 93/379/EWG (4) mit Wirkung ab 1. Juli 1993 ein Programm verabschiedet, das die prioritären Aktionen fördern und die Kontinuität der Unternehmenspolitik gewährleisten soll. Das Programm befasst sich schwerpunktmässig mit der Verbesserung des rechtlichen, steuerlichen und administrativen Umfelds der Unternehmen und sieht die gezielte Prüfung der Übertragung von Unternehmen vor.

Das Weißbuch über Wachstum, Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Beschäftigung (5) führt die Übertragung von Unternehmen als einen der prioritären Bereiche auf, in denen Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung erforderlich sind.

Das Integrierte Programm für die kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen und das Handwerk vom 3. Juni 1994 (6) sieht als Beitrag der Gemeinschaft zur Verbesserung des Unternehmensumfeldes eine Empfehlung der Kommission zur Übertragung von Unternehmen vor.

Die Kommission hat in ihrer Mitteilung über die Verbesserung der steuerlichen Rahmenbedingungen für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (7) eine Initiative angekündigt, die auf eine Erleichterung der steuerlichen Belastung bei Erbschaft und Schenkung abzielt.

In seiner Resolution vom 10. Oktober 1994 (8) fordert der Rat die Mitgliedstaaten und die Kommission auf, die geltenden Bestimmungen daraufhin zu überprüfen, inwieweit sie die Gründung, das Wachstum oder die Übertragung der Unternehmen behindern.

Die Kommission hat diese Prüfung durchgeführt und festgestellt, daß jedes Jahr mehrere tausend Unternehmen gezwungen sind, wegen unüberwindlicher Schwierigkeiten bei der Übertragung ihre Tätigkeit einzustellen. Solche Liquidationen haben negative Auswirkungen auf die Wirtschaftsstruktur der Unternehmen, ebenso wie auf ihre Gläubiger und Arbeitnehmer.

Die Verluste für Beschäftigung und wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand sind um so bedauerlicher, als sie nicht durch die Marktkräfte verursacht werden, sondern durch die unzureichende Vorbereitung der Nachfolge sowie Unzulänglichkeiten im Recht der Mitgliedstaaten, insbesondere im Gesellschafts-, Erb- und Steuerrecht.

Verstärkte Bemühungen, die Unternehmer zu sensibilisieren, informieren und auszubilden, damit sie zu ihren Lebzeiten ihre Nachfolge richtig vorbereiten, würden dazu beitragen, die Chancen für eine erfolgreiche Übertragung zu erhöhen.

Eine Reihe von Änderungen im Recht der Mitgliedstaaten könnte die Zahl der gelungenen Unternehmensübertragungen beträchtlich erhöhen.

Eines der Hindernisse für den Erfolg der Übertragung ist die Schwierigkeit für die Nachfolger, die ausscheidenden Miterben auszuzahlen, weshalb es in allen Mitgliedstaaten entsprechende Finanzierungsinstrumente geben sollte.

Im Hinblick auf die Übertragung kann es erforderlich sein, die Rechtsform des Unternehmens in die hierzu am besten geeignete Rechtsform umzuwandeln. Die Unternehmen haben nicht in allen Mitgliedstaaten ein Recht zur Umwandlung, das ihnen ermöglicht, die Rechtsform zu wechseln, ohne dabei das Unternehmen auflösen und eine neue Einheit gründen zu müssen. Solche Vorgänge sind kostenaufwendig, bringen Verwaltungsaufwand mit sich und bedeuten Zeiten der Unsicherheit für Gesellschafter und Dritte.

Die Rechtsform der Aktiengesellschaft dürfte am besten den Anforderungen einer Übertragung entsprechen. Die Aktiengesellschaft stellt im Hinblick auf Gründung und laufende Verwaltung hohe Anforderungen. Diese wurden mit Blick auf eine Aktiengesellschaft mit zahlreichen Aktionären eingeführt, um den Schutz der Aktionäre und Dritter zu gewährleisten. Derartige Anforderungen dürften jedoch bei einem Unternehmer nicht erforderlich sein, der lediglich im Familienrahmen eine Aktiengesellschaft gründen möchte, um die Übertragung des Unternehmens zu erleichtern.

Einige Verfahren oder Rechtsformen erleichtern die Übertragung, indem sie die Trennung von Geschäftsführungsbefugnis und Eigentum am Unternehmen ermöglichen.

Die Wahl der am besten geeigneten Rechtsform für die Übertragung sollte nicht durch die Steuergesetzgebung behindert werden. Das gleiche gilt für die übrigen Maßnahmen zur Vorbereitung der Übertragung wie Einbringung von Unternehmensteilen, Fusion, Spaltung und Austausch von Anteilen.

In den meisten Mitgliedstaaten wird, sofern der Vertrag nichts anderes vorsieht, eine Personengesellschaft beim Tod eines Gesellschafters aufgelöst. Einseitige Willenserklärungen eines Gesellschafters können vom Gesellschaftsvertrag abweichen, doch geht aus den gesetzlichen Bestimmungen nicht hervor, welche der beiden Vorrang hat. Diese Abweichung kann im Fall des Todes eines der Gesellschafter zu einem Konflikt führen, der den Fortbestand der Gesellschaft gefährdet und unter Umständen sogar zur Liquidation zwingt.

Stirbt einer der Gesellschafter einer Personengesellschaft oder ein Einzelkaufmann, müssen die Miterben in den meisten Mitgliedstaaten einstimmig über die Fortführung des Unternehmens entscheiden. Daher kann die Existenz des Unternehmens allein durch die Blockadeabsicht eines der Erben gefährdet werden.

Eine der grössten Behinderungen für eine erfolgreiche Übertragung innerhalb der Familie ist die damit verbundene Steuerbelastung. Die Entrichtung von Erbschaft- oder Schenkungssteuern kann das finanzielle Gleichgewicht des Unternehmens und folglich seine Existenz bedrohen. Durch die Art der Besteuerung werden die europäischen Unternehmen im Vergleich zur internationalen Konkurrenz benachteiligt.

Die Verpflichtung zur sofortigen Entrichtung der Erbschaft- oder Schenkungssteuern kann die Erben des Unternehmens zwingen, einen Teil der Aktiva zu verwerten oder das gesamte Unternehmen zu verkaufen oder sogar zu liquidieren.

Bei der Ermittlung des Werts des Unternehmens ist zu berücksichtigen, daß sich dieser durch die Übertragung eventuell verringern kann.

Es ist schwieriger als früher, innerhalb der Familie einen Nachfolger zu finden. Der Verkauf des Unternehmens ist eine Übertragungsform, die erleichtert werden sollte, um das Überleben des Unternehmens zu sichern, gerade wenn dies innerhalb der Familie nicht möglich ist. Der Unternehmer sollte Anreize erhalten, die Übertragung zu seinen Lebzeiten zu regeln.

Der Aufkauf des Unternehmens durch die Angestellten ist eine Form der Übertragung, die es zu fördern gilt. Auf diese Weise lassen sich die Fortführung des Unternehmens sowie der Transfer von Know-how und erworbener Erfahrung gewährleisten.

Einige Mitgliedstaaten haben bereits Maßnahmen getroffen, um die Übertragung von Unternehmen zu erleichtern. Einige ihrer Vorgehensweisen ließen sich auch von anderen Mitgliedstaaten übernehmen -

EMPFIEHLT:

Artikel 1

Ziele

Die Mitgliedstaaten werden aufgefordert, die zur Erleichterung der Übertragung von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen erforderlichen Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um das Überleben der Unternehmen sowie die Erhaltung der damit verbundenen Arbeitsplätze sicherzustellen.

Sie werden insbesondere aufgefordert, die zur Ergänzung ihres rechtlichen, steuerlichen und administrativen Rahmens am besten geeigneten Maßnahmen zu ergreifen mit dem Ziel,

- die Unternehmer hinsichtlich des Problems der Übertragung zu sensibilisieren und dadurch einen Anreiz für die Vorbereitung dieses Vorgangs zu Lebzeiten zu bieten;

- ein finanzielles Umfeld zu schaffen, das für den Erfolg der Übertragung förderlich ist;

- dem Unternehmer zu ermöglichen, die Übertragung durch Bereitstellung geeigneter Instrumentarien effizient vorzubereiten;

- die Kontinuität der Personengesellschaften und Einzelunternehmen beim Tod des Gesellschafters oder Unternehmers zu sichern;

- den Erfolg der Übertragung innerhalb der Familie zu sichern, indem vermieden wird, daß die Erbschaft- und Schenkungssteuer das Überleben des Unternehmens gefährdet;

- dem Unternehmer steuerlich einen Anreiz für die Übertragung seines Unternehmens durch Verkauf oder durch Übernahme der Arbeitnehmer zu bieten, insbesondere, wenn kein Nachfolger innerhalb der Familie vorhanden ist.

Artikel 2

Information

Es sollten öffentliche oder private Initiativen zur Sensibilisierung, Information und Ausbildung der Unternehmer mit dem Ziel der Vorbereitung ihrer Nachfolge gefördert werden, so daß eine erfolgreiche Übertragung kleiner und mittlerer Unternehmen gesichert ist.

Artikel 3

Finanzielles Umfeld

Es sollte den kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen ein finanzielles Umfeld geboten werden, das eine erfolgreiche Übertragung fördert.

Artikel 4

Vorbereitung der Übertragung

Es sollte eine ordnungsgemässe Vorbereitung der Übertragung durch Bereitstellung geeigneter Instrumentarien für den Unternehmer ermöglicht werden. Hierzu sind die Mitgliedstaaten aufgefordert,

a) ein Umwandlungsrecht für Unternehmen einzuführen, das es ihnen erlaubt, unter Berücksichtigung der Rechte Dritter und der Gesellschafter von einer Rechtsform zu einer anderen zu wechseln, ohne das Unternehmen aufzulösen oder eine neue Einheit zu gründen;

b) den kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen zu gestatten, sich als Aktiengesellschaft mit einer begrenzten Anzahl von Aktionären zu konstituieren, deren Gründung und Verwaltung im Vergleich zu den Aktiengesellschaften vereinfacht ist, deren Aktien über den Kapitalmarkt breit gestreut sind;

c) die Gründung einer Aktiengesellschaft mit nur einem Gesellschafter unter den Voraussetzungen des Artikels 6 der 12. Richtlinie 89/667/EWG des Rates (1) zuzulassen;

d) bei der Besteuerung von Transaktionen, die die Geschäftsführungsbefugnis vom wirtschaftlichen Eigentum trennen sollen, die wirtschaftliche Notwendigkeit der juristischen Konstruktionen anzuerkennen, sofern diese mit dem Ziel der Erleichterung der Übertragung vorgenommen wurden, und erforderlichenfalls entsprechende Maßnahmen zu ihrer Genehmigung und Förderung zu treffen;

e) unabhängig von den Verpflichtungen des Gemeinschaftsrechts das Prinzip der Steuerneutralität auf Vorgänge im Zusammenhang mit der Vorbereitung einer Übertragung wie Einbringung von Unternehmensteilen, Fusion, Spaltung und Austausch von Anteilen anzuwenden. Das Prinzip der Steuerneutralität sollte ebenfalls für Stempel- und Eintragungsgebühren sowie ähnliche Abgaben gelten.

Artikel 5

Kontinuität von Personengesellschaften und Einzelunternehmen

Es empfiehlt sich, die Kontinuität von Personengesellschaften und Einzelunternehmen im Fall des Todes eines der Gesellschafter oder des Unternehmers zu gewährleisten. Hierzu sind die Mitgliedstaaten aufgefordert,

a) das Prinzip des Fortbestands einer Personengesellschaft im Fall des Todes eines Gesellschafters zu übernehmen, indem sie den verbleibenden Gesellschaftern die Möglichkeit geben zu entscheiden, die Gesellschaft mit oder ohne die Erben des verstorbenen Gesellschafters fortzuführen, wobei gegebenenfalls für den Anteil des Erblassers eine Abfindung zu zahlen ist; der Gesellschaftsvertrag kann von dem Prinzip des Fortbestands der Gesellschaft abweichende Regelungen treffen;

b) sofern der mögliche Widerspruch zwischen Gesellschaftsvertrag und letztwilligen Verfügungen oder Schenkungen noch nicht geklärt ist, in ihre nationale Gesetzgebung eine Bestimmung aufzunehmen, nach der der Gesellschaftsvertrag vor einseitigen Willenserklärungen eines der Gesellschafter Vorrang hat;

c) dafür zu sorgen, daß beim Tod eines der Gesellschafter einer Personengesellschaft oder eines Einzelunternehmers das Familien- oder Erbrecht, insbesondere die Regel der Einstimmigkeit bei Entscheidungen der Erbengemeinschaft, den Fortbestand des Unternehmens nicht gefährden kann;

d) dafür zu sorgen, daß die in Buchstabe a) vorgesehene Abfindung für den Anteil des Erblassers sowie die sich aus Buchstabe c) ergebende Abfindung der überstimmten Erben die Existenz des Unternehmens nicht in Gefahr bringen. Zu diesem Zweck sollte vorgesehen werden, daß die Abfindung auf der Grundlage des Verkehrswerts einschließlich des Good-will berechnet wird, sofern die Parteien Ratenzahlung wählen, während die Abfindung lediglich auf der Grundlage des Buchwerts berechnet wird, wenn eine der Parteien die sofortige Auszahlung verlangt.

Artikel 6

Besteuerung von Erbschaft und Schenkung

Das Überleben des Unternehmens sollte durch eine angemessene steuerliche Behandlung der Erbschaft und der Schenkung gesichert werden. Zu diesem Zweck sind die Mitgliedstaaten aufgefordert, eine oder mehrere der folgenden Maßnahmen zu treffen:

a) bei der Übertragung im Wege der Schenkung oder Erbschaft die Besteuerung der ausschließlich betrieblich genutzten Aktiva unter der Bedingung, daß die Unternehmenstätigkeit für einen Mindestzeitraum fortgesetzt wird, zu verringern, und zwar bei Erbschaft- und Schenkungssteuern sowie den Eintragungsgebühren;

b) den Erben, vorausgesetzt sie setzen die Tätigkeit des Unternehmens fort, die Möglichkeit zu bieten, die Zahlung der Erbschaft- oder Schenkungssteuer ohne Verzinsung in Raten vorzunehmen oder stunden zu lassen;

c) dafür zu sorgen, daß bei der steuerlichen Bewertung des Unternehmens dessen Wertentwicklung bis einige Monate nach dem Tod des Unternehmers berücksichtigt wird.

Artikel 7

Übertragung an Dritte

Die Unternehmer sollten ermutigt werden, zu Lebzeiten die Übertragung an Dritte ins Auge zu fassen, wenn sie innerhalb der Familie nicht möglich ist. Zu diesem Zweck sind die Mitgliedstaaten aufgefordert,

a) beim Verkauf zumindest eine teilweise Steuerbefreiung auf die Veräusserungsgewinne oder den Wertzuwachs des Unternehmens zu gewähren, insbesondere, wenn der Unternehmer das 55. Lebensjahr vollendet hat, und das Reinvestieren der Veräusserungserlöse beim Verkauf eines Unternehmens in ein anderes Unternehmen steuerlich zu begünstigen, wenn dieses nicht an einer Börse notiert und aktiv in der Herstellung oder dem Vertrieb von Waren oder Dienstleistungen tätig ist;

b) die Übernahme des Unternehmens durch die Arbeitnehmer steuerlich zu begünstigen, insbesondere durch Entlastung bei der Besteuerung des Wertzuwachses der an die Arbeitnehmer übertragenen Anteile, durch Erlaß der Eintragungsgebühren, durch Steuervergünstigungen bei der Bereitstellung von Finanzierungsmitteln für die Arbeitnehmer im Hinblick auf den Anteilserwerb oder durch Aufschub der Besteuerung bei den Arbeitnehmern bis zu dem Zeitpunkt, in dem sie ihre Anteile veräussern; sie sollten diese Vorteile gleichfalls den von Arbeitnehmern gegründeten Gesellschaften oder Genossenschaften zukommen lassen.

Artikel 8

Gegenseitige Konzertierung

Die Mitgliedstaaten werden aufgefordert, sich in Verbindung mit der Kommission gegenseitig zu informieren und zu konsultieren, um von dem Austausch der Erfahrungen und der jeweils bewährtesten Vorgehensweisen im Bereich der Übertragung von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen zu profitieren, insbesondere für die Umsetzung der in der vorliegenden Empfehlung enthaltenen Maßnahmen.

Artikel 9

Bericht

Damit die Kommission die erreichten Fortschritte bewerten kann, werden die Mitgliedstaaten aufgefordert, ihr spätestens bis zum 31. Dezember 1996 die wichtigsten Gesetze, Verordnungen oder Verwaltungsvorschriften mitzuteilen, die sie zur Umsetzung der vorliegenden Empfehlung erlassen haben, sowie die Kommission über jede spätere Änderung in diesem Bereich zu informieren.

Artikel 10

Adressaten

Diese Empfehlung ist an alle Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Brüssel, den 7. Dezember 1994

Für die Kommission

Raniero VANNI d'ARCHIRAFI

Mitglied der Kommission

(*) Die Begründung dieser Empfehlung wurde als Mitteilung im ABl. Nr. C 400 vom 31. 12. 1994, S. 1, veröffentlicht.

(1) ABl. Nr. L 239 vom 16. 8. 1989, S. 33.

(2) ABl. Nr. L 175 vom 4. 7. 1991, S. 32.

(3) ABl. Nr. C 178 vom 15. 7. 1992, S. 8.

(4) ABl. Nr. L 161 vom 2. 7. 1993, S. 68.

(5) Weißbuch, Teil A: "Mehr Wettbewerbskraft für die Wirtschaft", S. 14, und Teil B, Ziffer 2.7: "Vorschläge und Lösungsansätze", S. 93.

(6) KOM(94) 207 endg. vom 3. 6. 1994.

(7) ABl. Nr. C 187 vom 9. 7. 1994, S. 5.

(8) ABl. Nr. C 296 vom 22. 10. 1994, S. 6.

(1) ABl. Nr. L 395 vom 30. 12. 1989, S. 40.